Sam Connor Again Wins Sidcup Sixty Trial

Sam Connor (300 Beta-UK)
            Sam Connor (300 Beta-UK) won with a fantastically low score last Sunday’s Inta Motorcycles sponsored Sidcup Sixty trial. But Conner is no stranger to winning the event as this is his ninth win since 1997.
           The club laid out twenty testing section for the field of over one hundred and forty riders to complete two laps. The set off in groups of three at nine-thirty on the crisp frosty but bright Sunday morning for what was, for some going to be a long hard day. For this, by tradition is the clubs hardest trail of the year.

Jack Dance (125 JST Gas Gas)
            But tradition is one thing, and reality is another as Conner, riding the expert elite route, completed his first twenty section lap with the loss of just two marks, the only rider with a single-digit score. He had a single dab on section four and another at seventeen. His second lap was clean up to, once again section seventeen. He must have been a bit disappointed for two sections later, and with just two sections left in the trail, he had a three. A section he cleaned on the first lap. This gave him a final score of only six, forty-two clear of second-place man Thomas Moss (300 Stiles Gas Gas).
           Moss started his trial off well but had a five on the rocks of section seven but was clean till the truck tyres of section eleven where most riders had failed. Conner had cleaned on both sections as Moss ended his lap with twenty-eight marks lost. His next lap was much better, with a single on the fourth and another couple of fives on seven and eleven. He completed his second lap for twenty making a trial total of forty-eight and second place on the elite route.
           Oliver Smith (300 Oset Bikes Beta) was second after the first lap but slipped to third with a careless five on the opening section which put him one mark behind Moss when the score sheets were totalled.

James Grist (300 Active Sherco)
           In the expert class Gus Oblein (250 MRS/SPJ Sherco) had great opening lap with the now usual fives on seven and eleven for seventeen. But on lap two he did even better with three single dabs and a couple of threes’ and ended that lap on just nine. This gave him a total of twenty-six, just one point clean of the evergreen Julian Harvey (300 Sherco), who won the event outright in 1999 and 2003.
            James Grist (300 Active Sherco) mastered the troublesome section eleven and had a dab and a clean on his way to second place, just four points behind Harvey.
           Hugh Baker (300 Montesa) was third, but fourth to sixth place couldn’t have been tighter with a single point separating Simon Hiscock (300 Beta), James Burroughs (300 Body Clinic Beta) and Nick Dowland (260 Montesa).

Mark Baker (300 Beta)
           Martin Carter (250 Gas Gas) only had two fives on his way to the intermediate class win with Andrew Eley (280 TRS) and Lewis Chapman (260 Montesa) getting first-class awards and with Aaron Wakefield (300 Gas Gas) getting a second lass. But fifth place man Tom Bartrum showed up a lot of the modern machines by finishing on sixty-five on a BSA Bantam. 
           Gavin Cooper (300 Beta) won the over forty class from Roger Higgs (300 TRS) and Ashley Hall (300 Beta).
           Chris Burman (250 Sherco) won the novice premier award while Kevin Miller (250 TRS) won the over fifty class on the red route.

Oliver Smith (300 Oset Bikes Beta)
         But, the most remarkable ride of the day came from young Jack Dance (125 JST Gas Gas) riding the youth expert elite class. He ended his event with the score of forty-two marks lost, and as he was riding the same route as the adult expert elite, he was fourth best elite rider, and he was on a 125cc machine. Someone to look out for in the future.
         Max Agar (125 Justmoto Gas Gas) was the only youth rider in the expert route, and he finished on ninety-seven. At the same time, Daniel Da Breo (125 Gas Gas) won the youth intermediate with Max Whorlow (125 Gas Gas) taking the youth novice award.

Tom Bartrum (185 Vantage BSA)

Top eight results

Expert Elite:
1 Sam Conner (300 Beta) 6 marks lost
2 Thomas Moss (300 Stiles Garage Gas Gas) 48
3 Oliver Smith (300 Oset Bikes Beta) 49
4 Kieran Tovey (300 Matt Pope Sherco) 55
5 Jack Stiles (300 Stiles Garage Gas Gas) 89
6 Thomas McCabe (300 Paul Nash TRS) 105
7 Matt Godden (300 Gas Gas) 108

1 Gus Oblein (250 MRS/SPJ Sherco) 26
2 Julian Harvey (300 Sherco) 27
3 James Grist (300 Active Sherco) 31
4 Hugh Barker (300 Montesa) 51
5 Simon Hiscock (300 Beta) 55
6 James Burroughs (300 Body Clinic Beta) 55
7 Nick Dowland (260 Montesa) 56
8 Ronnie Day (250 John Lee Gas Gas) 61

1 Martin Carter (250 Gas Gas) 24
2 Andrew Eley (280 TRS) 36
3 Lewis Chapman (260 Montesa) 53
4 Aaron Wakefield (300 Gas Gas) 61
5 Tom Bartrum (185 Vantage BSA) 65
6 Michael Hyden (250 Gas Gas) 65
7 Chris Hogben (300 Inta Vertigo) 72
8 Oliver Whorlow (300 Gas Gas) 76

Over 40 (Blue route):
1 Gavin Cooper (300 Beta) 16
2 Roger Higgs (300 TRS) 20
3 Ashley Hall (300 Beta) 23
4 Martin Stevens (300 Gas Gas) 27
5 Harley Stephens (300 Freestyle Beta) 39
6 Paul Whitehead (300 PW Sherco) 40
7 Neil Bowker (300 InMotion Beta) 43
8 Dave Shave (260 Montesa) 48

1 Chris Burman (250 Sherco) 36
2 James Coker (250 Pringle Racing Yamaha) 41
3 Katie Nash (289 Paul Nash TRS) 44
4 Robin Whorlow (175 Yamaha) 46
5 Doug Norris (300 Scorpa) 48
6 Terry Lilley (250 Montesa) 51
7 Jack Beck (300 Sherco) 51
8 Grace Dark (250 Sherco) 55

Over 50 (Red route):
1 Kevin Miller (250 TRS) 16
2 Gareth Price (250 Beta) 21
3 Tim Carter (250 Gas Gas) 30
4 Tony Dobbs (300 Beta) 30
5 Geoff Muston (125 Honda) 30
6 Sten Pringle (300 RS Auto Repairs Beta) 32
7 Marc Taylor (250 Beta) 32
8 Dave Plumb (300 TRS) 34

Youth expert elite:
1 Jack Dance (125 JST Gas Gas) 42
2 Joe Snelling (125 BVM Moto Beta) 132

Youth expert:
1 Max Agar (125 Justmoto Gas Gas) 97

Youth intermediate:
1 Daniel Da Breo (125 Gas Gas) 66
2 George Chillman (125 Gas Gas) 100
3 Sophie Bailey (125 Gas Gas) 109
4 Max Dance (80 Gas Gas) 118

Youth novice:
1 Max Whorlow (125 Gas Gas) 80
2 Luke Newby (125 Sherco) 103
3 Michael Lilley (240 SWM) 110
4 Fletcher Ely (Oset) 121
5 Edward Mowat (Oset) 147