Searle and Walsh take Maxxis MX1 and MX2
Championship Wins

Lewis Tombs (Buildbase Honda) Leads the first MX1 race
            Tommy Searle on his Holeshot Kawasaki turned up at the eighth and final round of the Maxxis British Motocross championship needing just one-sixth place to clinch this year’s championship from his main rival Shaun Simpson and his RFX KTM.
            But unlike the MX1’s the MX2 championship battle between Dylan Walsh and Alvin Ostlund would go to the very last race of the year. But one thing was sure, a Revo Husqvarna would take the championship win as both riders are in the same team.
            The old school Landrake track nestled in a valley just over the Devon, Cornwall county border was a picture and apart from a lot of overnight rain was in excellent racing condition after practice and qualifying.

Tommy Searle (Holeshot Kwasaki)
            Lewis Tombs (Buildbase Honda) got the holeshot at the start of the first MX1 race from Searle, Harri Kullas (Cab Screens Deos Honda), John Robson, Jake Millward (Chambers Husqvarna) and Simpson. But, by the end of the opening lap, and while Robson crashed out, Simpson was in the lead from Searle. But, Searle, who was looking at the big picture and doing what was needed to win the championship was riding steady and taking no chances.
            Millward passed Searle for second place on lap five with Kullas following through to third a lap later as Tombs after a crash which bent his gear lever, slipped down to a fourth place and was forced to ride the rest of the race in third gear. Mel Pocock (ASA United KTM) moved past Tombs on lap seven as Elliott Banks-Browne (Geartec Husqvarna), after a poor start had his race came to a stop with an engine problem while in seventh place.
            Apart from Kullas passing Millward with two laps to go the order stayed the same as Simpson took the win from Kullas, Millward, Searle, Pocock, Tombs and Brad Anderson on a four-stroke Verde KTM.

Harri Kullas (Cab Screens Deos Honda)
           Kullas got the holeshot at the start of race two, from Simpson, Anderson, Banks-Browne, Tombs and Millward but as the riders came around to complete the first lap Simpson was in the lead, but it was not to last.
            As Simpson came over the table-top jump before the finish line, where he lost control of his KTM and was pitched sideways and into the fence, just in front of commentator Chris Czora’s commentating booth. It took Simpson a while to untangle his machine and he re-joined the race in eighth place.
           Meanwhile, Kullas was back in the lead from Anderson, but a lap later Banks-Browne passed them both and took them from what that would never be challenged as he won the last race of the year in excellent style.
            Kullas hung on to second place as Simpson fought his way back up to third from Anderson, Tombs, Millward and new champion Searle.
            Overall it was Simpson by a single point from Kullas with Millward joining them on the podium in third place.

Dylan Walsh (Revo Husqvarna)
            Walsh got the holeshot at the start of the first MX2 race from Conrad Mewse, who was making a comeback from a long injury absence. Walsh’s team-mate and main rival Ostlund was third from Liam Knight (Verde KTM) and Jorgen Mattias Taviku and Jake Sheridan, with the on-form Gosh Gilbert (Buildbase Honda) in seventh place.
            Apart from Ostlund passing the not yet race fit Mewse at about the halfway point, the order of the top four stayed in the same order while behind all sorts of things were happening. The still injured Martin Barr (Crescent Yamaha) came from sixth to finish fifth with Gilbert who didn’t really get going, sixth. But, one of the best rides of the weekend came from Tom Grimshaw (HCR Yamaha). He battled from a sixteenth place at the start, to seventh. And that on a track that was hard to pass on.

Josh Gilbert (Buildbase Honda)
           So, the championship came down to the last race of the year. Once again Walsh got the holeshot from Mewse, Taviku, Gilbert, Robert Yates (IDS Yamaha), and Jake Sheridan with Barr going down at the top of the track and Ostlund after a bad start and a tangle in the first turn was back in nineteenth place.
            While Barr picked himself up slowly and retired back to the paddock, Ostlund his championship challenge virtually over made his way to fifth by the end of the race. Walsh took yet another win from a flying Gilbert, Mewse, Taviku and Knight. But in the final championship standings, it was a Revo Husqvarna one, two with Walsh was the champion from team-mate Ostlund with Gilbert not that far behind them.

Martin Barr (Crescent Yamaha)
             With a win and a second-place, Joel Rizzi won the MX2Y overall, and with it, the championship win as his main rival Ike Carter had a DNF in race one but took the win in race two. Kyle McNicol didn’t finish out of the top three was second overall with Louie Kessell taking the last step on the winner’s podium. Tom Murphy ended his weekend on the same points as Kessell but didn’t called for a trip to the podium because Kessell’s higher race two position.

Top ten overall


1 Shaun Simpson (RFX KTM) 25 + 20 = 45
2 Harri Kullas (Cab Screens Deos Honda) 22 + 22 = 44
3 Jake Millward (Chambers Husqvarna) 20 + 15 = 35
4 Brad Anderson (Verde KTM) 14 + 18 = 32
5 Tommy Searle (Holeshot Kawasaki) 18 + 14 = 32
6 Lewis Tombs (Buildbase Honda) 15 + 16 = 31
7 Mel Pocock (ASA United KTM) 16 + 13 = 29
8 Elliott Banks-Browne (Geartec Husqvarna) 0 + 25 = 25
9 Gert Krestinov (Phoenix Tools Kawasaki) 13 + 11 = 24
10 Jake Shipton (Crescent Yamaha) 10 + 12 = 22

Final championship positions:
1 Searle 343, 2 Simpson 321, 3 Millward 258, 4 Kullas 233, 5 Pocock 219, 6 Anderson 202, 7 Shipton 117, 8 Krestinov 171, 9 Tombs, 10 Adamson 142.

Conrad Mewse (Hitachi KTM)

1 Dylan Walsh (Revo Husqvarna) 25 + 25 = 50
2 Conrad Mewse (Hitachi KTM) 20 + 20 = 40
3 Josh Gilbert (Buildbase Honda) 15 + 22 = 37
4 Alvin Ostlund (Revo Husqvarna) 22 + 15 = 37
5 Liam Knight (Verde KTM) 18 + 16 = 34
6 Jorgen Mattias Taviku (Yamaha) 12 + 18 = 30
7 Taylor Hammel (RHR Yamaha) 11 + 14 = 25
8 Tom Grimshaw (HCR Yamaha) 14 + 11 = 25
9 Ashton Dickinson (Craigs KTM) 13 + 10 = 23
10 Lewis Hall (Team Green Kawasaki) 9 + 12 = 21

Final championship positions:
1 Walsh 343, 2 Ostlund 312, 3 Gilbert 284, 4 Barr 248, 5 Dickinson 190, 6 Vaessen 169, 7 Knight 163, 8 Mewse 162, 9 Grimshaw 149, 10 Ellis 144.

Tom Grimshaw (HCR Yamaha)

1 Joel Rizzi (RFX KTM) 25 + 22 = 47
2 Kyle McNicol (Manchester Husqvarna) 22 + 20 = 42
3 Louie Kessell (KTM) 15 + 18 = 33
4 Tom Murphy (ASA United KTM) 18 + 15 = 33
5 Josh Peters (Gabriel Yamaha) 14 + 16 = 30
6 Jaydon Murphy (Yamaha) 13 + 14 = 27
7 Ike Carter (Husqvarna) 0 + 25 = 25
8 Ryan Mawhinney (JGR Revo Husqvarna) 16 + 8 = 24
9 Preston Williams (KTM) 20 + 4 = 24
10 Alfie Jones (KTM) 10 + 12 = 22

Final championship positions:
1 Rizzi 329, 2 Carter 279, 3 McNicol 234, 4 Peters 183, 5 Thomson 167, 6 Murphy 160, 7 Kessell 158, 8 Grayshon 132, 9 Lancett 127, 10 Padstone 115.