A Double Win for Simpson Closes the Gap on Searle

Shaun Simpson (RFX KTM)
            Shaun Simpson on his RFX KTM with two smooth and stylish MX1 race wins closed the gap on Bos Kawasaki championship leader, Tommy Searle at the Salop clubs historic Hawkstone Park last Sunday.
            But, as Simpson was doing his thing in the MX1’s, the Revo Husqvarna pairing of Dylan Walsh and Alvin Ostlund were dominating the MX2’s. And in the youth, MXY2’s the win could have been anyone of four riders and Kyle McNicol, Ike Carter, Joel Rizzi and Jack Grayshon finished the day sport separated by just four points.
            The club had excellently prepared the track and kept it well waters without a hint of dust although the hot, humid day.

Dylan Walsh (Revo Husqvarna)
           The still injured Harri Kullas got the holeshot on his Cab Screens Deos Honda at the start of the first MX1 race but before the end of the first lap Simpson was in the lead, and that was the last any of the other riders saw him unless he was lapping them.
           But, while that was going on at the front Jake Nicholls riding his second national of the year, because of his injury, was spinning out, in turn two on his Buildbase Honda and ending his lap in thirty second and last place.
           Elliott Banks-Browne gated third and had past the struggling Kullas on lap four looked like he had second place in the bag till with two laps to go his Geartec Husqvarna came to a stop. A seal had broken letting water into the engine and robbing him of valuable championship points.
           The on-form Jake Millward had one of his usual fast starts on his Chambers Husqvarna but had a slight slip on the second lap and was passed by Mel Pocock and Searle. Pocock finished fourth and Millward fifth. Both moved up a place at the end with Banks-Browne’s DNF.
            Searle made it up to second but could close on the winner Simpson

Harri Kullas (Cab Screens Deos Honda)
            Kullas once again got the holeshot at the start of race two but waved Simpson through knowing he wasn’t in a fit state to hold him off. Simpson then just disappeared into the distance to win his second race of the day.
            Searle had made a better start and was soon in second place but could do nothing to close the gap on the winner, Simpson. Nicholls, this time survived the opening lap and finished the opening lap in fifth, but then passed Kullas, and Millward to finish in third and showed he’s back on the Maxxis pace.
            With three laps to go, Kullas re-grouped and repassed Millward for fourth with Millward hanging on to fifth with Jamie Law and excellent fifth.
            Overall it was Simpson from Searle and Kullas with Nicholls just missing out on the podium. But, in the championship, Simpson has closed in on Searles lead with Millward, Pocock, Kullas the best of the rest.


Tom Neal (Craigs MC Husqvarna)
            In the MX2’s Walsh got the holeshot at the start of the first from Ashton Dickinson, Josh Gilbert, Tom Neal and Ostlund. But, by the end of the second lap, Gilbert was in second, and Ostlund had passed Neal fourth.
            It all changed two laps later when Gilbert slipped off. This incident put Ostlund behind his teammate, Walsh with Dickinson still in third and Gilbert in fourth. 
            For the rest of the race, Ostlund closed in on the leader Walsh while Gilbert did what I could to keep in touch with the two leaders. But the best ride came from Martin Barr and his Crescent Yamaha.

The start of the first MX2
            He started well down in thirteenth place but raced his way towards the front and passed Dickinson on the very last lap for fourth place.
            At the start of the second race Walsh, once again, got the holeshot from Ostlund and Gilbert and the three riders stayed in that order for the whole race.
            Barr had got a better start and finished fourth from Dickinson and Knight.
            Overall it was championship leader Walsh, from Ostlund and Gilbert with Barr just missing out on a podium from Dickinson, Knight and Neal. In the championship, Walsh now has a twelve-point advantage from Ostlund with Gilbert still in touch in third.

Josh Gilbert (Buildbase Honda)


           Without winning a race, Kyle McNicol was the overall winner in the MXY2’s. Ike Carter lead the first race for a couple of laps till Joel Rizzi past both him and McNicol to win the race. As Carter slipped back, McNicol retook second with Jack Grayshon third. Carter hung on to fourth as Josh Peters came from seventh to fifth.
            Carter won the second from McNicol and Grayshon.
            Overall it was McNicol by one point from Carter and Rizzi who tied on points. Grayshon was three points off the podium in fourth. In the championship, Rizzi now has a twenty-four-point lead over Carter with McNicol third. 

Jason Meara (Phoenix Tools Kawasaki)

Top ten overall

1 Shaun Simpson (RFX KTM) 25 + 25 = 50
2 Tommy Searle (BOS Kawasaki) 22 + 22 = 44
3 Harri Kullas (Cab Screen Deos Group Honda) 10 + 18 = 38
4 Jake Nicholls (Buildbase Honda) 13 + 20 = 33
5 Jake Millard (Chambers Husqvarna) 16 + 16 = 32
6 Mel Pocock (ASA United KTM) 18 + 14 = 32
7 Jason Meara (Phoenix Tools Kawasaki) 14 + 13 = 27
8 Jake Shipton (Crescent Yamaha) 15 + 11 = 26
9 Jamie Law (Apico Husqvarna) 10 + 15 = 25
10 Brad Anderson (Verde KTM) 7 + 12 = 19

Championship standings:
1 Searle 275, 2 Simpson 226, 3 Millward 188, 4 Pocock 154, 5 Kullas 151, 6 Krestinov 147, 7 Anderson 146, 8 Shipton 126, 9 Tombs 113, 10 Adamson 113.

1 Dylan Walsh (Revo Husqvarna) 25 + 25 = 50
2 Alvin Ostlund (Revo Husqvarna) 22 + 22 = 44
3 Josh Gilbert (Buildbase Honda) 20 + 20 = 40
4 Martin Barr (Crescent Yamaha) 18 + 18 = 36
5 Ashton Dickinson (Craigs KTM) 15 + 16 = 31
6 Lain Knight (Verde KTM) 13 + 15 = 28
7 Tom Neal (Craigs KTM) 14 + 13 = 27
8 Michael Ellis (Trevor Pope KTM) 12 + 14 = 26
9 Tom Grimshaw (HCR Yamaha) 7 + 12 = 19
10 Jake Sheridan (RSR Plant KTM) 8 + 11 = 19

Championship standings:
1 Walsh 243, 2 Ostlund 231, 3 Gilbert 209, 4 Barr 194, 5 Vaessen 169, 6 Dickinson 148, 7 Mewse 122, 8 Hammal 115, 9 Knight 106, 10 McCormick 104.

1 Kyle McNicol (Manchester Husqvarna) 22 + 22 = 44
2 Ike Carter (DEP Husqvarna) 18 + 25 = 43
3 Joel Rizzi (RFX KTM) 25 + 18 = 43
4 Jack Grayshon (Apico Husqvarna) 20 + 20 = 40
5 Tom Murphy (Team Green Kawasaki) 15 + 16 = 31
6 Josh Peters (Yamaha) 16 + 15 = 31
7 Ryan Thompson (Central Forestry Husqvarna) 14 + 14 = 28
8 Ben Clark (Rock Oil KTM) 13 + 13 = 26
9 Aaron Padstone (Brenron KTM) 11 + 12 = 23
10 Joseph Dent (Bikesport Yamaha) 9 + 10 = 19

Championship standings:
1 Rizzi 235, 2 Carter 211, 3 McNicol 192, 4 Lancett 127, 5 Thompson 120, 6 Peters 115, 7 Grayshon 111, 8 Hird 100, 9 Kessell 96, 10 Murphy 85.