Van Doninck and Gilbert Big Winners at the MX Nationals Three

            Brent Van Doninck (ASA United Husqvarna) climbed onto the top step of the winners Pro MX1 rostrum as he took the overall win, by winning both races on the way to victory at round three Michelin MX Nationals, last weekend at the fast, spectacular Cusses Gorse track.
            But, while Van Doninck did his thing in the MX1’s Josh Gilbert (Par Homes RFX Husqvarna) was doing the same in the Pro MX2’s. Two race win and the overall.

Brent Van Doninck (ASA United Husqvarna)
            Evgeny Bobryshev got the holeshot at the start of the first combined pro-MX1 and MX2 race and was chased around the opening lap by Van Doninck, Harri Kullas, series leader Tommy Searle, Josh Spinks and Jake Milward. The top three sped away in the distance till lap five when Kullas’s Honda came to a stop and was taken back into the paddock.
            This pushed Searle and Spinks up a position with Jake Nicholls, from ninth at the start moving into fourth place all be it just for a lap as Nicholls crashed out on one of the tracks big downhills. He restarted but rode his damaged Honda back to the paddock.
            For the next couple of laps, Bobryshev started to slow as arm-pump set in which allowed Van Doninck to catch and pass him for the win. Searle was third from Spinks, Martin Barr and Stuart Edmonds.

Jake Nicholls (Buildbase Honda)
            In the MX2 side of the race, Taylor Hammal gated twelfth, but first MX2 rider from Tom Grimshaw and Josh Gilbert, but Hammal’s time in the lead ended before it had begun as his Yamaha came to a stop after just one lap. This left Grimshaw in the lead from Gilbert, but by the end of the second lap, Gilbert was in the lead, and mixing it with the big 450s till the end of the race.
            Grimshaw was all on his own in second with Jorgen Telviku, James Carpenter and Joel Rizzi following him over the finish line in third, fourth and fifth.

Josh Gilbert (PAR Homes RFX Husqvarna)
            Van Doninck got the holeshot at the start of the race two and was unchallenged for the rest of the fourteen laps race. Kullas followed Van Doninck in to turn one but was passed by Searle by the end of the lap as Bobryshev relegated Kullas down another place be the end of the second.
            Bobryshev closed in on Searle and challenged his for his second-place a couple of times till a small slip off dropped him back behind Kullas and Nicholls. He re-passed Nicholls by the end of the next lap but took till two laps from the checkered flag to re-take Kullas, by which time catching Searle for second was out of the question and he settled for third place. Kullas hung on to fourth with Nicholls a distant fifth.

Steven Clarke (Buildbase Honda)
            Steven Clarke on his MX2 got a great start and was seventh as the pack rounded the first turn but he had Gilbert in his wheel track and pushing him hard. The pair of fast hard racers were never more than a couple of bike lengths apart till, with just two laps to go, Clarke, made a small mistake and slipped off handing the win to Gilbert, his second of the day.
            James Carpenter was third, some thirty seconds behind the winners, with Glen McCormick fourth. Hammal had another DNF while Grimshaw got punted off on lap one but made his way from last to seventh.
           Overall in the MX1’s, it was Van Doninck, from Searle, Bobryshev, Spinks and Barr while in the MX2’s it was Gilbert from Carpenter, Telviku with Grimshaw just missing out on a podium but was on the same points as the third-place rider.

Harri Kullas (Deos Cab Screens Honda)

The others:

            With two race wins, a second and a third Joe Clayton won the expert MX1 overall from race three winner Gavin Stevenson and with Shaun Southgate third after winning the last race of the weekend.
            Charlie Putnam was the man on form in the experts MX2’s winning three out of his four races and finishing fourth in the other. Race one winner Jake Preston was second overall with Ollie Beamish just beating Jack Lindsay to the last step on the podium.
            Only six points separated the top three in the amateur MX1’s as race four winner Bradley Maddever won the overall from Callum Gordon and Rob Cross who both finished on the same points.
            It was even closer in the amateur MX2’s as Kieran Yorke took the overall by a single point from Aaron Ongley with Mitch Young third just four points behind Ongley.
            With three wins and a second-place, Justin Robinson claimed the top step of the clubman MX1podium from Ryan Osborn and Pete Bulley while in the clubman MX2’s a clean sweep of all four of his races gave Alex Buchanan the class overall win from Max Flint and Conner Warren.

Evgeny Bobryshev (PAR Homes RFX Husqvarna)

Youth :

            Louie Kessell won three out of his four-race in the MXY2’s from the consistent Cullen Scott and race two winner Tyler Westcott while in the MXY125 side of the race Bobby Bruce won all of his races to become the overall winner and with it the 2020 MXY125 championship, with a meeting and four races in hand. Joe Brookes who didn’t finish out of the top three all weekend was second, with Ethan Lane third.
           Charlie Hayman had a clean sweep in the big wheel 85’s for the overall from Wal Beaney and Tyla Hooley, while in the small wheels Josh Vail took the overall with three wins and a second, from Reece Jones and Kalvin Kelly.

Josh Spinks (Husqvarna)


Pro MX1

Pro MX2

Expert MX1

Expert MX2

Clubman MX1

Clubman MX2

Amateur MX1

Amateur MX2



Big Wheel 85

Small Wheel 85