of the Southwest Maters

Words & Photos by Dave Rich

Jake Shipton, Crescent Yamaha
Last Sunday saw the opening round of the POINT-S South West Masters Motocross Championships at Whiteway Barton in Devon. The track was in tip-top shape and had attracted a fair entry and was to produce some excellent racing in all classes.

In the 24MX Expert Championship, there was a good entry and had attracted back to top flight racing the likes of Luke Hawkins a former Champion in the South West along with many others. Jake Shipton on the Crescent Racing Yamaha had set the fastest time in qualifying and had first pick of the gates and he was to use it to his advantage in the opening race and took the holeshot from an outside gate from the Cheddar Mx Honda of Luke Hawkins and Dan Thornhill on the Cab Screens DEOS Racing Honda. Shipton had a clear track in front and soon eased away, but Hawkins was put under a tremendous amount of pressure early on from Thornhill who was all over him looking to get past which he eventually did on lap five. Hawkins was soon put under pressure again from the St Blazey/Dragon Tek Yamaha of Todd Kellett. Though Kellett didn’t have the best of starts but was quickly on the gas and powered his way up into third by the end of lap eight after passing Hawkins, he wasn’t going to catch the leading two as Shipton took the win, Thornhill second and Kellett third. In the second moto, this time Shipton went for the inside gate at the start and this also worked well as he again had the holeshot from Supercross star Joe Clayton and Kellett who was all over Clayton from the off. Shipton still was pulling away at the front, and Kellett was aware of this and passed Clayton by the end of the opening lap and was giving chase. Thornhill was to move up into third passing Clayton on lap two and Hawkins was soon all over Clayton which turned in to a scrap for several laps with Hawkins getting the better of Clayton on lap eight powering up the big hill and moved into fourth. Thornhill closed in on Kellett in the closing stages, but Kellett held on to take second behind Shipton. In the last moto, Shipton went back to the outside gate, and he took the holeshot again from Kellett and Thornhill, and it wasn’t long before Shipton had the throttle wound back and was starting to get away at the front. Thornhill and Kellett were having a real tussle and at one stage were to bang handlebars with neither rider giving an inch until a slight lack of traction from Kellett was enough to see Thornhill go through into second, but he wasn’t going to catch Shipton who went on to make it a hattrick of wins.

Wayne Shimell, TyreMarks Honda
In the Wulfsport Over 45’s category, it was all about one rider, and that was the J D Racing KTM of Leigh Williams or Leapey Leigh as he is better known. He got the holeshot all three races and stormed away to take a convincing hat trick of wins, with David Ford and David Shipton finishing second and third behind him in all three races.

In the JCT Developments Junior Championship class, there were many up and coming youngsters moving up into the adult ranks all keen to do well. In the opening race, it was Kieran Mclelland who lead the pack into turn one, from James Cole and Brandon Baker with the Baker taking over the lead by the end of the opening lap. Moving up into second was now Kieran Yorke who really had the bit between his teeth and was desperate to find a way pass Baker.  This turned in to a real battle for several laps with Yorke eventually getting past on lap seven and from there went on to take the win, Brad Thornhill thought his way through in the latter part of the race to take second with Daniel Wade taking third. In the second race, it was young 16-year-old local lad Jason Down who was having his first ride in the adults on his 125 with the holeshot from Rocky Letherby and Ben Clayton. Down was screaming that 125 around Whiteway and was to hold the lead for a couple of laps before Clayton took over on lap three and was to ease away. Down held second until two laps from the end when he bent his gear change and struggled to carry on and through went Wade who took second just ahead of Harry day with Down bring it home a respectable eighth for his efforts. In the last race, there was no stopping Clayton who led from the off and went on to take the chequered flag ahead of Thornhill who again came on strong in the closing stages of the race with Harvey James taking third.

In the Junior B class, there was no stopping Josef Scibilia who notched up a hat-trick of win whereas in the Junior C class there was two wins for Darren Brock and the other one went to Andrew Wright who denied Brock a clean sweep in race two.




  1. Jake Shipton (450 Crescent Racing Yamaha)
  2. Dan Thornhill (450 Cab Screens DEOS Group Racing Honda)
  3. Todd Kellett (450 St Blazey/Dragon Tek Yamaha)
  4. Luke Hawkins (450 Cheddar Mx Honda)
  5. Joe Clayton (250 Wheeldon Off-Road Centre Kawasaki)
  6. Kelvin Townsend (450 Tony Maunders Racing Yamaha)


  1. Wayne Shimell (250 TyreMarks Honda)
  2. Darren Banwell (450 Cheddar Mx Honda)
  3. James Kensington (250 Tony Maunders Racing KTM)
  4. Ben Harmon (300 KTM)
  5. Peter Bulley (350 KTM)
  6. Carl McIlroy (250 KTM)


  1. Leigh Williams (450 J D Racing KTM)
  2. David Ford (250 Projuice KTM)
  3. David Shipton (250 Yamaha)
  4. Richard Tapscott (250 Yamaha)
  5. Dean Davies (350 Tony Maunders Racing Husqvarna)
  6. Shaun Brooker (450 S B surfacing KTM)


  1. Ben Clayton (Kawasaki)
  2. Daniel Wade (Yamaha)
  3. Brad Thornhill (KTM)
  4. Kieran Yorke (KTM)
  5. Maverick Smith (Yamaha)
  6. Harry Day (Honda)



  1. Josef Scibilia (KTM)
  2. Reagan West (KTM)
  3. James Chard (KTM)
  4. Luke Scriven (KTM)
  5. Jonathan Budd (Kawasaki)
  6. Alex Loewy (KTM)


  1. Darren Brock (Yamaha)
  2. Andrew Wright (Honda)
  3. Steven Nicholls (KTM)
  4. Kevin Pengelly (KTM)
  5. John Mitchell (Kawasaki)
  6. Steven Flack (KTM)